Editorial Press Room Best Links Patriotic Slogans
News & Events Tell Your Friend Site Map Contact Us
 The Classical Age
Pratiharas - Palas - Rashtrakutas
The Pratiharas are believed to be the clan of Rajputs. The greatest ruler of the Pratihara dynasty was Mihir Bhoja. He recovered Kanauj (Kanyakubja) by 836, and it remained the capital of the Pratiharas for almost a century. The Pratihara dynasty started well under the ruler Nagabhatta-I. Though initially he had hiccups with the Rashtrakutas, he was able to leave behind a strong State comprising Malwa, parts of Rajputana and Gujarat. His successor Nagabhatta-II (805 - 839 AD) showed his military capabilities by checking out Muslim advancement and the victory over Andhra, Vidharbha, Vatsa, Sindhu and Kalinga. Towards the end of 10th century, the prestige of the Pratiharas came to and end with the humiliating submission of Rajyapala to Mahmood in 1018 AD. The successors of Pratiharas like Trilochanapala, Yasapala continued reigning for another century.
The Pala empire was founded in 730 AD. They ruled over parts of Bengal and Bihar. Dharmapala (780-812 AD) was one of the greatest kings of the Pala dynasty. He did much to restore the greatness of Pataliputra. The Nalanda University was revived under their rule. The Palas had close trade contacts and cultural links with South-East Asia.
Dantidurga laid the foundation of Rashtrakuta Empire. The Rashtrakuta's empire was the most powerful of the time. They ruled from Lattaluru (Latur), and later shifted the capital to Manyaketa (Malkhed).
Vijayanagar Empire The Kingdom of Mysore
The Chalukyas, Pallavas, and Pandyas The Islamic Sultanates The Punjab - Sikh Empire 
Chola Empire Delhi Sultanate Company Rule & The British Raj
Pratiharas - Palas - Rashtrakutas The Mughal Empire The Independence Movement
The Rajputs The Maratha Confederacy    
All Rights Reserved @ www.thegreatindia.org Designed By : Keyinfo Technologies